LWVGB Member Information

Next LWVGB Board Meeting...
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Community Foundation of B'ham
2121 1st Avenue North, #700
Birmingham, AL

Any member of the
League of Women Voters of Greater Birmingham
is welcomed to attend as an observer.

Orientation and Planning Meeting
was held
Saturday, July 12, 2014
9:00 a.m - 12:30 p.m.
Vestavia Public Library
Historical Room
1221 Montgomery Hwy
Vestavia Hills, AL 35216

-- map --

Members, thank you for attending the...

LWVGB Annual Business Meeting
Thursday, June 19, 2014

6:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Sweet Tea Restaurant
2205 3rd Avenue S.
Birmingham, AL 35233

See below for business approved by the membership at this meeting.

Following is the business approved by the membership of the League of Women Voters of Greater Birmingham for 2014-2015. Note that the LWVGB bylaws and budgets and personal contact information for the Board of Directors is accessible by members. If you are a LWVGB member and need access assistance, please contact Jean Johnson at jjohnson@lwvgb.org or at 205 870-3063.



President (2014-2015)
Yvonne Brakefield

Vice President (2014-2015)
Ida Tyree-Hyche

Secretary (2014-2015)
Joan Burroughs

Treasurer (2014-2016)
Michael O'Donnell


Nancy Ekberg (2013-2015)

Jean Johnson (2014-2016)

Joyce Lanning (2013-2015)

Barbara Powell (2014-2016)

Nancy Sales (2013-2015)

Ann Smith (2013-2015)


Committees / portfolios and persons holding those positions will be determined at the LWVGB Orientation and Planning Meeting on July 12, 2014, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Vestavia Public Library in the Historical Room.


Off-board committees will be created by the board as needed.


Mary Lynn Bates, Chair

One member seat open.

One other member to be appointed by/from Board.


Recent Past Presidents

Trisha Powell Crain (2013-2014)

Cyrondys Jackson (2012-2013)

Ida Tyree-Hyche (2011-2012)

Leonette Slay (2011)

Sarah McDonald (2009-2011)



Calling All Members to LWVGB Volunteer Opportunities

Leaguers help make democracy work! Can you fit a few volunteer hours into your schedule? There are plenty of opportunities for you in the League. How can you help? Call 205 583-5000 to volunteer or for further information.

The League and the good work that we do is dependent on your service and dedication to League principles. Remember, the League works because you contribute. Members, thank you for all that you have done in the past and in advance for accepting new volunteer opportunities!